San Diego Kiwanis Club Foundation, Inc.


The Kiwanis Club of San Diego works in concert with the San Diego Kiwanis Club Foundation, Inc. (the ‘Foundation’).  The Foundation is a 501(c)(3) foundation incorporated in California that annually provides more than $180,000 to projects and organizations in the community.

The primary purpose of the San Diego Kiwanis Club Foundation is to provide a means for members and others to provide charitable contributions and to ensure those contributions are utilized in accordance with the Foundation’s guidelines as well as state and federal law.

Annual Member Contributions

We appreciate the spirit of volunteerism and support for the Foundation by all members of the Kiwanis Club and hope you will help us reach 100% participation in our 2017-2018 pledge drive. Please send your annual contribution to the Foundation by clicking on the Donation button below.

Team Budgets

Each year the Kiwanis Club teams prepare their annual budgets and these budgets are presented to the Kiwanis Club Board of Directors. The Club board then proposes a budget to the Foundation board to meet the team requests.

The Foundation board reviews the charitable requests and approves those requests that meet the guidelines for appropriate use of those funds.

Guidelines For Use of Foundation Funds

Funds of the San Diego Kiwanis Club Foundation must be used for charitable, educational, religious or other youth related activities, as provided by the Bylaws of the Kiwanis Club and the Foundation, and must also be consistent with provisions of the Internal Revenue Code and the California Revenue and Taxation Code to preserve the Foundation’s tax-exempt status.  These are general guidelines – reasonable variations may be considered by the Foundation Trustees.

  • Funds should be used primarily for charitable purposes involving the Club, Club teams and Club members, rather than being a conduit for contributions to other worthy community causes.
  • Generally, priority should be given to using funds for projects where the assistance of other agencies is not readily available.
  • To permit maximum use of funds granted, emphasis should be more on donations to groups and less on individuals.
  • Generally, funds should be applied to advance the goals, aims or objectives of the individual or group donee, rather than be used for administrative expenses.
  • A specific objective for the use of funds is more desirable that a broader one.
  • The use of funds should be limited primarily to the geographic area of the County of San Diego, but may be applied to other geographic locations as determined by the Foundation Trustees.
  • Donation recipients should be required to provide public recognition of the fact that the Club and Foundation are the source of the donation when feasible; this is particularly the case when capital donations are made and a plaque of acknowledgment may be appropriate. The Club and Foundation may be reluctant to make a contribution where this is not possible.
  • Scholarship awards will be made under the supervision of the Scholarship Team, following the Foundation’s criteria and guidelines.
  • Funds may not be given to or used for individual Club or Foundation members or their relatives.
  • Except in unusual circumstances, contributions to government agencies should be avoided.
  • Contributions for capital improvements should be infrequent.

Team member requests for foundation funds or expense reimbursement should be in writing on the following forms.

Link to Check Request + Reimbursement Form 

2021-2022 Officers

David Jay, President

Victor Bianchini, Immediate Past President

Gordon BoernerFirst Vice President

Claire LeBeau, Secretary

Doug Frost, Treasurer & CFO

Board of Trustees:

Class of 2022 Class of 2023 Class of 2024
Claire LeBeauVic BianchiniChuck Day
Jay JeffcoatDoug FrostGordon Boerner
Carl NettletonDavid JayKarina Sousa

Kiwanis Club President, Mike Boland

Scholarship Chair, Steve Morris 

Foundation Past Presidents

2019-2020 – Jim Floros 1995-96 – James Vivoli

1971-72 – Richard L. Johnston

2018-2019 - Justin Frisco 1994-95 – Richard McCraken

1970-71 – Jim McFarland

2017-2018 – Daniel Williams 1993-94 – Jack T. Saucier

1969-70 – Julius J. Fink

2016-2017 –Norma Trost 1992-93 – Richard A. Shaw

1969 – O.W. Todd, Jr.

2015-2016 – Judy Leitner 1991-92 – Richard A. Shaw

1968 – Fred S. Hage, Jr.

2014-2015 – Drue Jordan 1990-91 – Timothy J. Willard

1967 – George K. Palmer

2013-2014 – Tom Bauer 1989-90 – Melvyn B. Stein 1966 – Alvin Rosa
2012-2013- Monica Ball 1988-89 – Walter A. Zitlau

1965 – Edward P. Scott

2011-2012 – John Rush 1987-88 – Victor Hall

1964 – Edward P. Scott

2010-2011 – Art Stillwell 1986-87 – J. Scofield Hage

1963 – George K. Palmer

2009-2010 – Brian Krause 1985-86 – Tom Peek

1962 – Lawrence Carr Jr.

2008-09 – Gene Auerbach 1984-85 – Jim Hurry

1961 – Pat N. Hyndman

2007-08 – John Kizer 1983-84 – C.L. Toleson

1960 – Julius J. Fink

2006-07 – Chuck Mulroy 1982-83 – Charles F. Merz

1959 – Dr. Cunningham

2005-06 – Bruce Boland 1981-82 – Eldon C. Williams

1958 – Dr. Cecil D. Hardesty

2004-05 – Jim Floros 1980-81 – Bernhard H. Bieri

1957 – Norman D. Ferguson

2003-04 – Norm House 1979-80 – Richard L. Haugh

1956 – Dr. Roy French Kidd

2002-03 – Chuck Day 1978-79 – Griff J. Hayes

1955 – Leslie Gehres

2001-02 – Jay Jeffcoat 1977-78 – Jack M. Templeton

1954 – Herbert C. Peiffer, Jr.

2000-01 – Jim Ledwith 1976-77 – Donald F. Osgood 1953 – Leo Calland
1999-00 – Jim Polak

1975-76 – Robert H. Bollum

1998-99 – Wilbur Shigehara

1974-75 – Robert W. Klaiber

1997-98 – Don McKee

1973-74 – Milton Cheverton

2020-2021 - Victor Bianchini 1996-97 – Charles Kakos

1972-73 – Edwin W. Bingham

Join our Club and perform extraordinary things in your community!

Kiwanis Club of San Diego is a 501(c)4 non-profit organization. 

3276 Rosecrans Street, Suite 202, San Diego, CA   92110-4893

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software