San Diego Kiwanis Club Foundation, Inc.


The Kiwanis Club of San Diego works in concert with the San Diego Kiwanis Club Foundation, Inc. (the ‘Foundation’).  The Foundation is a 501(c)(3) foundation incorporated in California that annually provides more than $180,000 to projects and organizations in the community.

The primary purpose of the San Diego Kiwanis Club Foundation is to provide a means for members and others to provide charitable contributions and to ensure those contributions are utilized in accordance with the Foundation’s guidelines as well as state and federal law.

Annual Member Contributions

We appreciate the spirit of volunteerism and support for the Foundation by all members of the Kiwanis Club and hope you will help us reach 100% participation in our 2015 pledge drive. Please send your annual contribution to the Foundation by clicking on the Buy Now button below.

Foundation Contribution

Committee Budgets

Each year the Kiwanis Club committees prepare their annual budgets and these budgets are presented to the Kiwanis Club Board of Directors. The Club board then proposes a budget to the Foundation board to meet the committee requests.

The Foundation board reviews the charitable requests and approves those requests that meet the guidelines for appropriate use of those funds.

2016-2017 Officers

Norma Trost Foor – President

Judy Leitner – Immediate Past President

Daniel Williams – First Vice President

Justin Frisco – Second Vice President

Marguerite Battersby – Secretary

Douglas Frost – Chief Financial Officer/Treasurer

Board of Trustees:

Class of 2017

Miranda Bordson
Charles Day
Conny Jamison
Brian Krause

Class of 2018

Tom Bauer
Charlie Coleman
James Floros
Jay Jeffcoat
Carl Nettleton

Class of 2018
Carole Cutitta
Terrence Griffin
Claire O’Leary
Chris Pare
Arthur Stillwell

Kiwanis Club President:
Karina Sousa

Scholarship Chair
Arthur Stillwell

Legal Advisor
Douglas Frost Esq.

Guidelines For Use of Foundation Funds

Funds of the San Diego Kiwanis Club Foundation must be used for charitable, educational, religious or other youth related activities, as provided by the Bylaws of the Kiwanis Club and the Foundation, and must also be consistent with provisions of the Internal Revenue Code and the California Revenue and Taxation Code to preserve the Foundation’s tax-exempt status.  These are general guidelines – reasonable variations may be considered by the Foundation Trustees.

  • Funds should be used primarily for charitable purposes involving the Club, Club committees and Club members, rather that being a conduit for contributions to other worthy community causes.
  • Generally, priority should be given to using funds for projects where the assistance of other agencies is not readily available.
  • To permit maximum use of funds granted, emphasis should be more on donations to groups and less on individuals.
  • Generally, funds should be applied to advance the goals, aims or objectives of the individual or group donee, rather that be used for administrative expenses.
  • A specific objective for the use of funds is more desirable that a broader one.
  • The use of funds should be limited primarily to the geographic area of the County of San Diego, but may be applied to other geographic locations as determined by the Foundation Trustees.
  • Donation recipients should be required to provide public recognition of the the fact that the Club and Foundation are the source of the donation when feasible; this is particularly the case when capital donations are made and a plaque of acknowledgment may be appropriate. The Club and Foundation may be reluctant to make a contribution where this is not possible.
  • Scholarship awards will be made under the supervision of the Scholarship Committee, following the Foundation’s criteria and guidelines.
  • Funds may not be given to or used for individual Club or Foundation members or their relatives.
  • Except in unusual circumstances, contributions to government agencies should be avoided.
  • Contributions for capital improvements should be infrequent.

Committee member requests for foundation funds or expense reimbursement should be in writing on the following forms.

Foundation fund request

Fundingrequest (MS Word)

Check Request and Reimbursement Form

Foundation Past Presidents

1953 – Leo Calland

1954 – Herbert C. Peiffer, Jr.

1955 – Leslie Gehres

1956 – Dr. Roy French Kidd

1957 – Norman D. Ferguson

1958 – Dr. Cecil D. Hardesty

1959 – Dr. Cunningham

1960 – Julius J. Fink

1961 – Pat N. Hyndman

1962 – Lawrence Carr Jr.

1963 – George K. Palmer

1964 – Edward P. Scott

1965 – Edward P. Scott

1966 – Alvin Rosa

1967 – George K. Palmer

1968 – Fred S. Hage, Jr.

1969 – O.W. Todd, Jr.

1969-70 – Julius J. Fink

1970-71 – Jim McFarland

1971-72 – Richard L. Johnston

1972-73 – Edwin W. Bingham

1973-74 – Milton R. Cheverton

1974-75 – Robert W. Klaiber

1975-76 – Robert H. Bollum

1976-77 – Donald F. Osgood

1977-78 – Jack M. Templeton

1978-79 – Griff J. Hayes

1979-80 – Richard L. Haugh

1980-81 – Bernhard H. Bieri

1981-82 – Eldon C. Williams

1982-83 – Charles F. Merz

1983-84 – C.L. Toleson

1984-85 – Jim Hurry

1985-86 – Tom Peek

1986-87 – J. Scofield Hage

1987-88 – Victor Hall

1988-89 – Walter A. Zitlau

1989-90 – Melvyn B. Stein

1990-91 – Timothy J. Willard

1991-92 – Richard A. Shaw

1992-93 – Richard A. Shaw

1993-94 – Jack T. Saucier

1994-95 – Richard McCraken

1995-96 – James Vivoli

1996-97 – Charles Kakos

1997-98 – Don McKee

1998-99 – Wilbur T. Shigehara

1999-00 – Jim Polak

2000-01 – Jim Ledwith

2001-02 – Jay Jeffcoat

2002-03 – Chuck Day

2003-04 – Norm House

2004-05 – Jim Floros

2005-06 – Bruce Boland

2006-07 – Chuck Mulroy

2007-08 – John Kizer

2008-09 – Gene Auerbach

2009-2010 – Brian Krause

2010-2011 – Art Stillwell

2011-2012 – John Rush

2012-2013- Monica Ball

2013-2014 – Tom Bauer

2014-2015 – Drue Jordan

2016-2016 – Judy Leitner

Form 990

The IRS Form 990 for the San Diego Kiwanis Club Foundation is available for review by appointment during regular business hours at 3276 Rosecrans Avenue, Suite 202, San Diego, California.